Caissa Chess Software
ICEA August Scholastic Championship [August 15th]
07/11/2021 - 07/11/2021

ICEA August Scholastic Championship [August 15th]

 

Tournament Date: Sunday, August 15th, 2021

 

Two Sections:

1. K-3 (For Grade K - 3)

2. OPEN (For all grades K-12)

 

Start Time:

 

The Tournament Begins at 9:00am Pacific/12:00pm Eastern and should end before 1:00 pm PT.

 

Format:

 

  • 4 round Swiss tournaments.

  • Standard US Chess pairing systems will be used. Accelerated Pairings May Be Used If Needed

  • This tournament is US Chess online regular rated.

 

Time Control:

 

G/25 Minutes; Increment 5 seconds

Each player receives 25 minutes plus a 5 second bonus each move to complete each game.

 

Estimated Round Times:


 

  • Round 1: 9:00am PDT (or 10:00AM MDT, or 11:00AM CDT, or 12:00PM EDT. )

  • Round 2: 10:00am PDT (or 11:00AM MDT, or 12:00PM CDT, or 1:00PM EDT. )

  • Round 3: 11:00am PDT (or 12:00PM MDT, or 1:00PM CDT, or 2:00PM EDT. )

  • Round 4: 12:00pm PDT (or 1:00PM MDT, or 2:00PM CDT, or 3:00PM EDT. )

 

Note: 

  1. Please be on time for every round. If students have not started games within 5 minutes, they will be marked as a no-show.

  2. The rounds 2 ~ 4 will be automatically started after a 5 minutes break when all players finish the last round.

  3. Remember to stay ONLINE or LOGGED in after you have joined the tournament even if you take a short break, that way you avoid being left out of pairing for the next round. And make sure NOT to PAUSE the game unless you don’t want to participate in the next round, otherwise you will not get paired in the next round. 


 

Requirements:

 

  • This is a completely open scholastic tournament – K-12 players from any state or country may play

  • All players must have a lichess account – all lichess accounts are free. If you do not have an lichess.org account yet, please register for a lichess.org account (it's free!) before signing up for the tournament and please provide your lichess username in the "Online Username" field when you complete the registration form.

  • Players must play from a computer (desktop or laptop). Tablets and cell phones are not permitted.

  • An active USCF membership is required. You can join the USCF or renew an expired USCF membership at this link: https://new.uschess.org/become-member

 

Fair play:

 

  • All standard chess fair play rules apply, hence no external assistance by computer or any source is allowed. If any of a player's lichess accounts have ever been marked as using chess computer assistance, we reserve the right to annul or submit as rated forfeit losses any of that player's games at our sole discretion. Our hope is that this strict policy will further discourage cheating in our online events.

  • Players can use a Desktop or Laptop that is "ZOOM ready" in case Arbiter requests the player to show camera angle or share screen. The instruction will be sent out one day before the tournament.

  • To be eligible for a prize you must join the zoom meeting using your real name with your camera on. Players must have a side/rear camera. Best angle shows the player and the monitor with the game at the same time.

 

Awards

  1. Amazon Cash E-Gift Card for 1st ($30), 2nd ($20), and 3rd ($10) for each section.

  2. Ranking Certificates will be emailed to top 10 players for each section.

 

Entry Fee

  • $10.00 by the Thursday (by 8/12/2021) prior to the event
  • $15.00 after Thursday (by 8/14/2021)

 

Note:

  1. All registration is not refundable.

  2. We will send out tournament instructions or reminders one day before the tournament. Make sure your email for the registration is correct and is able to receive the email from ICEA (@icea1.org), check your spam folder or contact chess@icea1.org if you didn't receive any emails before the tournament.

  3. Make sure the USCF membership is active, otherwise we will not be able to submit your results to USChess. If your USCF membership is expired or expiring before the tournament date, please go to USChess website to renew it.

 

About ICEA Chess Club

 

ICEA Kids Chess Club is for all kids who love and have a passion for chess, to help kids achieve their flaring “chess king” dream.

 

  * USCF #: (required)
Sign up for USCF
Look up USCF ID

*
*

Full Tournament